William and Jane BARNETT are identified as Thomison/Timison's father from her baptismal record. There were 6 other known children all born in or around Leek between 1754 and 1765. The various transcribed christening record copies conflict as to whether the services were conducted in Leek or more likely five miles away at St Luke's, Endon which is halfway to Hanley and its potteries. The records were probably held in Leek giving rise to the confusion. The church itself dates to 1730 and is known as 'the little gem on the hill' for its commanding panoramic views of the Staffordshire Moorlands.
There is only one christening record that fits for William, giving his christening date as 16 Mar 1723 in Leek.